The Architecture 4: Experiments with Water

The third big building seen in the game mode (with some vignette and bloom camera effects, just the experimental version), and also the newly updated painted skybox, fog and some faraway mountains!

Didn’t really care about the upper and downside parts because they’re out of sight, and now flaws are that although I made distortion close to the sides, they still act quite square-like in the scene. And the seams can be seen. I’ll leave it for now.

buildingball

屏幕快照 2016-06-24 11.47.30

The “real colour” in scene. And there’s a black ball inside to make the shadow effect..

I used two pairs of particle systems to make the two fountain things. One dropping column of water and one for the spray (because it seemed not very natural and also it’s rather complicated to make the collisions so I’d fake it).

The renderer I used is stretched billboard so that the water seems quite coherent but not like stupid squares. Higher emission rate than the default setting and a decreasing curve of the size to make it like in the painting that rather smoothly flowing at first and getting thinly scattered later. I also set the order in layer to 1 or the particles would be weirdly blocked by the river water in scene mode. And for the material, I tried all kinds of shaders including the particles ones and water ones in FX and chose the Water 4 in Unity’s standard assets, and used my sky texture (which is exactly a white to dark gradient) for the internal reflection.

For the bouncing spray I used a capsule mesh instead of a billboard.

buildingballwater

 

Leave a comment